Peer Grading

Standard

Found this great article, “Escaping the Paper Grading Trap“, and I’m ready to devise a system for students to do more of their own grading.  I have fallen victim to the 40lb teacher’s take home bag more often that I care to admit.  This article stresses, “Don’t do for students what they can do for themselves.”  Not only does allowing students to grade their own (or peer’s) paper free up my time to focus on planning instruction, but it provides more immediate feedback than I can hope to provide on my current grading weekend warrior schedule I’m currently on.

This will be especially useful for daily homework and word work workbooks.  We can create an accountability system and process for teaching cooperative learning groups to grade each other’s papers.

Leave a Reply

